ISTQB International Software Testing Qualifications Board



Below are brief descriptions of the ISTQB Certified Tester Foundation Level (CTFL) and Foundation extensions, as well as the Advanced Level (CTAL) certifications.

ISTQB Certified Tester, Foundation Level (CTFL)

The Foundation Level qualification is aimed at anyone involved in software testing. This includes those who may be expected to go on to extension or more advanced qualification such as Testers, Test Analysts, Test Engineers, Test Consultants, Test Managers, User Acceptance Testers, and Software Developers.

Those who require a basic grounding in software testing such as Project Managers, Quality Managers, Software Development Managers, Business Analysts, IT Directors and Management Consultants will also benefit from gaining the ISTQB Foundation Certification.


ISTQB Certified Tester, Foundation Level, Agile Tester Extension  (CTFL-AT)

The Foundation level Agile Tester Extension qualification has been designed for the increasing number of testing professionals who are working within an agile context. It is available to anybody who has successfully completed the Foundation level.

With the widespread adoption of agile and other incremental development methods, this certification would be useful for any testing professional.


ISTQB Certified Tester, Foundation Level - Model-Based Tester (CTFL-MBT)

Model-based testing is an innovative test approach to improve effectivity and efficiency of the test process. A model-based tester on a project uses models to drive test analysis and design, and keeps advantage of the models for other testing activities such as test implementation and reporting.

ISTQB® Model-Based Tester certification complements the core foundation level as a specialist module. It provides a practical and easy entry to the MBT approach.

Read more ...

ISTQB Certified Tester, Advanced Level (CTAL)

The Advanced Certificates are for experienced testing practitioners, and aim to demonstrate a depth of knowledge of testing topics and the ability to perform testing activities in practice.

The three modules/certificates are:

  • ISTQB Advanced Test Analyst CTAL-TA 
  • ISTQB Advanced Test Manager CTAL-TM
  • ISTQB Advanced Technical Test Analyst CTAL-TTA


ISTQB Certified Tester, Advanced Level Security Tester (CTAL-ST)

The Advanced Level Security Tester qualification is aimed at people who have already achieved an advanced point in their careers in software testing and wish to develop further their expertise in security testing. The modules offered at the Advanced Level cover a wide range of testing topics.

To receive Advanced Level certification in the module “Security Tester”, candidates must hold the Certified Tester Foundation Level certificate and satisfy the Exam Board that examines them that they have sufficient practical experience to be certified at Advanced Level, which should be not less than three years of relevant academic, practical, or consulting experience. Refer to the relevant Exam Board to determine their specific practical experience criteria.

Read more ...